AWARDS honoring Meagan Good, Teyana Taylor, Kim and more

kim (BlacksinHollywood.com) – It’s going to be a night to remember.

The Women in Entertainment Empowerment Network (WEEN) will present the Sixth Annual WEEN Awards to honor individuals who have raised global awareness for empowering women within their respective industries. The annual awards, coined as an evening of ‘glamour, philanthropy and social justice,’ will take place in New York City complete with a red carpet arrival ceremony. The theme of this year’s awards is #InSolidarity, and will pay homage to community, racial and social justice leaders in their plight to eradicate injustice, violence and disparities in Black and Latino communities.

Sadia Morrison, the celebrity publicist who was murdered in 2008, was grooming Teyana Taylor at the time of her death. She also worked closedly with Meagan Good, Zab Judah, Kanye West, Jay Z and a slew of other celebrities to give them influential style and help develop their careers.

sadia-morrison - Meagan Good - Lil Kim - Teyana Taylor WEEN awards 2016MASTERCLASS: Londell McMillan LOVINGLY LOYAL: Lil Kim big night (WEEN Icon Award) Transcribed by DC Livers EXCLUSIVELY for BlacksinHollywood.com

“Keep this on the hush!”

My dear friend. My little sister. My confidant. My argue partner. My client          Prince was my rocket ship my affirmative action in my life in this business as an attorney. With prince if you’re being honest in addition to his genius, if you go back Prince was the first one have Tipper Gore come out with the advisory theme for the lyrics. Albums never were stickered before to separate adult content from general content and there is a difference right. Back then it was very controversial. His music lead to a warning sign I say that because Lil Kim has been a bit controversial. Close your eyes and think about the year it must have been 1993, 4, 5, hip hop went west and it went west hard with the gangster rap. The lyrics challenged many of us. I’m a Black nationalist so I’m just keeping it real. It challenged many of us. East Coast lost its way and they were trying to bring it back but the lyrics went west. Lyrics are a reflection of a community and how we govern social political climate in our community. It came back to the East Coast and it went hard. You didn’t see many women in the game at all. It was not only a male sport it was just disrespectful to many. It was unapologetically unfair. It was Prince then you started seeing Biggie and Craig Mack but you started to see it coming back to the East Coast. And then amongst these light, there was a young woman who was down with a crew. They started to say: “Who is she?” You couldn’t deny that voice and that energy and that look that she brought to the game. That style. She came through and she started to challenge these men around what she needed, what she demanded, what she must have in order to record with them. She actually became a phenomenon. That’s the music, you all know the music you either love it or you don’t but put it this way The Grammy’s and the award shows have celebrated the music.

I want to talk about the friend that even I as the Christian Black nationalist can’t get over this woman. I can’t get over this woman. I see my BET friends. Y’all know we did “Countdown to Lockdown.” That the first reality that went Number 1, let’s be clear about that. Countdown to Lockdown was number one on all the charts. Lil Kim going to prison. Why did she go to prison? It was first thing I was gonna say. She’s just loving loyal. I mean lovingly loyal not just stupidly loyal. Lovingly loyal. When you look at the decisions she has made – good or bad – it came from a place of loyal. Brilliant or misguided, it came from a place of love. Lovingly loyal.

We know she went to prison. We know. If you follow her you followed the trial. I was there every single day. We followed the trial. It was just amazing, but she’s just a lovingly loyal person. I was captivated by that love.

I’m also captivated by her humor. If you know her, she’s just like the funnyist. She’s the greatest. As soon as you see her, she’s the hardest most edgyist person on one hand then the most giddyist, funnyist, softest person on the other hand. It’s like very intoxicating like. It’s like, “Who are you?” She’s Lil Kim. People love her. If you know Lil Kim you love Lil Kim. It’s just period. If you meet Lil Kim you’re not going to not love Lil Kim. It’s nothing about Lil Kim that you don’t love. If you don’t love Lil Kim, something’s wrong with you – if you know her. Strong, strong, strong and committed.

I remember a story, we were shooting – we had shot actually – Countdown to Lockdown. There was a moment when we were about to go on the bus to go to prison and she was with her family. They were praying. They had a prayer moment. There was a very serious prayer moment and her mother fainted. That would have been great TV. BET wanted it be on. I wanted it to be on. I never told you Kim, I wanted it to be on. I acted like I didn’t want it to be on. I wanted it to be on. And Kim was like, “Hell to the motherfucking no! That is not going in that show.”

She was in prison. I’m like you’re incarcerated what do you want me to do?’ She was on lock down. We had her get on the phone from the prison. She called the warden from the prison. We called Johnny. We called Connie. We called Tracey. We called Debra Lee. We called everybody. In their kind and considerate manner, BET respectfully pulled that scene out of the show. But [Lil Kim] kind of turned the entire prison upside down.

I was so worried about Lil Kim when she was in prison. But when I came back to the prison, Kim had it all locked in. Not because she was a superstar icon, but she’s just a very sweetheart, loving person. To know Lil Kim is to love Lil Kim. She’s the epitome of the word icon. She’s monumental. She’s extraordinary. And like Prince – when he started his journey – and I’m not trying to make a direct with her but you know, Psalms 75 verse 7: “…but God is the judge…” None of us are judges and the journey is not completed.

So I wanna say, come on up my little sister and I want all of y’all while she’s here. While we can, please just stand up for someone who we all know. She’s like our little sister. We all in her life and in her business. Let’s give a big warm welcome to the incomparable Lil Kim!

Leave a Reply

