BLACK AMERICA ON BLAST: How a Black kid’s GoFundMe shines light on the failure of Black leaders and

Chaunceys Chance - Black Press Radio(www.BlacksinHollywood.com) – Black Press Radio.com – the nation’s first online radio station – has become the go-to place for all things Black. Most communications are done by a private list serv to its’ members, BlackPressRadio.com provides Black digital content to thousands of Black-owned media outlets in the U.S., Western African, Black London and Brazil.

That’s why the past month has been so suprising for readers who have witnessed articles like, “Dear Black America: I quit you” and “Message to the Black Man (2016 Edition)” that shine a light on the growing frustration of a Black-owned media outlet that is forced to face harsh realities about a community that it dearly loves.

“You can’t fix what you won’t face,” said founder DC Livers, who left cushy positions with mainstream media to focus solely on producing Black content. “2016 was like a day of recokening for me. I’ve had to face harsh realities that my community is broken from the top down. I’ve had to come to terms with the fact that our leaders have sold us out. I’ve had to come face-to-face with the very stereotypes that I’ve dedicated my journalism career to counter. I always say, ‘The truth will set you free, but first it will piss you off.’ Let me just say, “I’m pissed off. I’ll just leave that there. I am truly pissed off with Black leadership and I won’t be silent about it anymore.”

READ the FULL Opinion/Editorial on Monday, June 27, 2016 on BlackPressRadio.com and everywhere that DC Livers’ syndicated column runs.

Leave a Reply

