DEBATE: Slut Shaming takes center stage as Amber Rose, Julia Beverly and Rhymefest weigh in

SlutShaming_Series_DCLiversby DC Livers
Special to BlacksinHollywood

(www.BlacksinHollywood.com) -It’s no secret that women in entertainment aren’t treated well.  As a female sportswriter working in NFL, NBA and MLB locker rooms, I’ve had my share of very nasty, humiliating experiences.

There was NBA standout “Big Baby’s” naked protest to me being in the lockerroom that led him to literally stand behind me while I attempted to interview his teammate Kevin Garnett for my Blackberry Playbook sponsorship. There was the Washington Wizards’ media rep last year who lost his mind when I entered the locker room.

Despite my intentionally over sized press badge, being a longtime credentialed NBA sportswriter, the rep took issue with my presence. “I have men in the shower!” he yelled out. “I have men in here and you have a recording device,” he said as he literally swept me from one side of the locker room to the other where I nearly fell into a male sports reporter and his camera man whose 100-pound camera wasn’t as threatening to the media rep as my iPad was. I could go on and on but what’s the point?

Benzino created the slut shaming trend by calling publisher Julia Beverly "slutmonkey."
Benzino slut shamed Ozone publisher Julia Beverly calling her a “slut monkey.”

So, when I encounter people like former Source Magazine editor Kim Osorio or photographer turned publisher turned author turned speaker Julia Beverly, I’m awe struck. I watch how they handle adversity and sexism and keep it pushing. I think of their journeys sometimes when getting verbally punked by players.

Recently, Amber Rose shocked the world by deciding she wasn’t going to put up with the double standards that women in hip hop face. She led a somewhat awkward “Slut Walk” that some people found liberating and others found it upsetting.

Recently, I covered #A3C15, the hip hop music festival that bills itself as hip hop’s family reunion. After getting lost on my way to an event, I ended up in a panel discussion as it was ending. I snapped a few pics and was preparing to leave when I heard the announcement that “Women in Hip Hop” was the next panel. I decided to stay a few minutes to grab a few pics and see who was on the panel.

As Julia Beverly and others filed in, I knew I would try to ask her about #SlutMonkey and its evolution into #SlutShaming and #SlutWalk. Below is her reply:

Leave a Reply

