VIP TRAVEL & PERKS: Time to upgrade your stay with IHG Spire Elite (review)

spire elite - IHG group - loyalty reivew - BlacksinHollywood(www.BlacksinHollywood.com) – When you’re ready to do some serious traveling, you’ll need serious travel partners. IHG Group’s hot new loyalty program just may fit the bill for you. With their recent acquisition of Kimpton Hotels, IHG is pimping out its packages with more amenities than ever before.

Earning Spire Elite status is easier than you think. Just earn 75,000 points or 75 qualifying nights and you’re in. I’m already in some pretty high-end travel clubs, and I’m Platinum with IHG but Spire Elite seems even more amazing. I’ve always been an IHG fan, while I admit to having similar status at other properties, but when I can I try to stay with IHG. They fit my business lifestyle. I’m very much on-the-go, have to impress clients and keep the family happy while I’m off covering the red carpet or the like. I really don’t have time for unreliability when traveling and for the most part, IHG delivers the goods for me.

intercontinental-cairo-IHG spire - DC Livers - blacksinhollywood

InterContinental in Cario is spectacular

IHG makes their challenges fun and exciting. It’s like playing Wheel of Fortune without being on TV. I especially like that IHG’s loyalty program is straight-forward without hidden drama.

Let’s face it. As busy executives, where we stay is almost as important and HOW we stay so if you’re like me and want the best, IHG is the way to go. Plus, they have some of the most exciting properties including Cairo (left), Kenya and more! When the company announces its Points Break program, which lists hotels that cost just 5000 points per night for a Rewards Stay, I literally drop what I’m doing and scan the list.

As excited as I was, I have to admit I was expecting a tad bit more like free breakfast or health club access. But Spire Elite is certainly an upgrade that IHG buffs like me welcome.

HERE’S HOW IT BREAKS DOWN

Points collection: 100% bonus points, 25K bonus points annually.
Tangible benefits: NONE

SPG Platinum Preferred Guest
Points collection: 3 points for every 1 USD spent
Tangible benefits: Welcome gift (includes continental breakfast as an option), room upgrade (including to a standard suite), premium Internet access, health club access, Club-level access, Executive-level access

HHonors Diamond
Points collection: 50% bonus points
Tangible benefits: Choose your room before check-in, premium Internet access, free access to health clubs, late checkout, lounge access, free breakfast

The customer service makes you feel more like an old friend than a business transaction like some of the other loyalty programs.
Intercontinental Hotels Group has named the new top tier membership level for its IHG Rewards Club loyalty scheme – Spire Elite.

To be eligible for the top level, IHG Spire Elite members will need to earn 75,000 points or stay at IHG hotels for 75 qualifying nights over a year.

– DC Livers

Leave a Reply

