BLACK TWITTER: Lee Daniels has a NEW Black problem

Lee Daniels Mo'Nique Empire blackpressradio

(www.BlacksinHollywood.com) – Lee Daniels named Terrence Howard’s character Lucius Lyon after satan, also known as Lucifer, to vilify and humilate the Black man who raised him.

That was his first mistake with #BlackTwitter.

Daniels’ second big mistake was consenting to an interview with CNN’s Don Lemon, one of the most hated Black men on TV to talk about one of Black America’s most beloved comedians. It will likely be remembered as an epic fail not only because Lemon rubs Black America the wrong way but also because Lemon publicly humiliated Daniels for his wildly popular TV series, “Empire.”

During an interview with Lemon, Daniels discussed the brewing controversy over comments he made to Mo’Nique, who has drawn a flood of media coverage after saying Daniels told her she was “blackballed” in Hollywood because of her behavior during the Oscar campaign for Precious. But in the process, Daniels came across as a Black community basher.

Daniels thinks the issue is overblown.

“We were on the [press] campaign and she was making unreasonable demands…she wasn’t thinking, and this is where reverse racism, I think, happens,” Daniels said. “I said, ‘You have to thank the producers of the film, you have to thank the studio,’ and I think she didn’t understand that. And I said, ‘Listen, people aren’t going to respond well if you don’t.”

His use of the term “reverse racism” was odd, as if he was somehow implying that the power in the situation resided with Mo’Nique rather than with the studios that have dictated her fate.

“I love her, and I’ve spoken to her. And she’s brilliant, and I like working with brilliant people,” he continued. “But sometimes artists get in their own way — I know I certainly do often. I have my own demons that I get in front of myself…” Daniels said in order to make it in his business “you gotta play ball.”

“This is not just show. It’s show business and you gotta play ball. I don’t like calling the race card. I don’t believe in it, because if I buy into it then it becomes ‘real.’ If I knew what I knew when I was 21, I wouldn’t be where I’m at right now.”

“Some people call that selling out,” Lemon pointed out.

Mo'Nique Lee Daniels Taraji P. Henson cookie - blacksinhollywood.com #Empire

WATCH NOW:

Mo’Nique also revealed that she was offered the headline making part of Cookie, but instead it went to Taraji P. Henson, who has become Empire’s breakout star.

Mo’Nique explained to INSIDE EDITION’s Les Trent that the show’s creator, Lee Daniels, who directed her in her Oscar winning role in Precious, wanted her to play Cookie.

“When he called me up, he offered me the role in Empire as Cookie,” she said.

Mo’Nique said Daniels even sent her a script.

Mo’Nique explained, “Maybe four days had gone by, and I hadn’t heard anything. So I’m trying to reach out to him to say, what time do I need to be in? Where do I need to be? When he finally returned the call, he says listen, the executives at Fox said that you’re difficult.”

Trent asked, “Mo’Nique are you difficult to work with? This is Lee Daniels, your friend, saying these things.”

“When I hear Mr. Daniels making those comments, he and I know that that’s not true,” she said.

Daniels is sticking to his version of the facts.

“I guess I’m a sell out then. Call it what it is, but I’m not going to not work, not going to not tell my truth, not going to not call people on their bull. Call it what it is. And see you in theaters.”

It seems Black people – or at least Mo’Nique – is calling Daniels on some bull as well. It seems this is far from over.

WATCH: Spook that Sat the Door: http://youtu.be/_BynXfREPG8

TALK BACK: Tell us whose side you believe.

Leave a Reply

